The Liebster Award

liebster2

 

To my surprise, I was nominated by Tealight Taylor for Liebster Award. First and foremost, to Tealight Taylor, I’d like to say thank you so very much!  To say I am honored is an understatement. I just started my blog and frankly, I wasn’t too confident that anyone would read it, let alone nominate me for an award. I’m stoked and excited for this opportunity to get better acquainted with the blogging community.

What is the Liebster Award you ask? Well according to what I have read it is an award created by a German blogger in 2010. Its purpose is to bring bloggers together and to promote bloggers with fewer than 200 followers. To be nominated is a huge opportunity to promote your blog and to get to know your fellow bloggers.

The revised official rules are as follows:

  • Post the award on your blog. For a more extensive look at this award check out, wording well. 
  • Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
  •  Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  • Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions

 

Eleven facts about me:

  1. This is my very first blog. I know it’s hard to believe but, yes I am not a professional blogger! Wow right?
  2. Quite often I tend to use sarcasm as my favorite form of expression, as shown above.
  3. I grew up in Florida on a small farm. This helped me to develop a love of animals and nature.
  4. I used to work for the local school district for over 10 years. I miss working with the kids in the classroom and can’t wait to return someday.
  5. I have an unholy and rather out of control obsession with the AMC show, The Walking Dead. The new season premier is equivalent to a holiday in my household.
  6. In 2009 I was reunited with my father after he was presumed dead for 20 years. You can only imagine my shock, but it did give me a second chance to improve my almost nonexistent relationship with him, so that’s a plus.
  7. My trusted companion is my Pomchi, Scout. I named her after the little girl in, To Kill a Mockingbird, one of my all-time favorite books. She is very ornery and sassy, but extremely loyal, plus she loves watching The Walking Dead with me!
  8. I am a huge fan of Sci-Fi, fantasy, and horror. I look forward to attending this year’s Animate Miami comic convention, where I am planning to help my son with his first cosplay costume.
  9. I plan on returning to college soon to pursue my Master’s in Psychology.
  10. Also in 2009, that was a very interesting year for me, I slipped into a coma for over 8 weeks and when I awoke I discovered that due to atrophy I was completely paralyzed from the neck down. It took me months to rebuild my muscle. While at the hospital undergoing rehab training to regain my ability to move, I would listen to my iPod and imagine myself in 80’s film montage to help keep me motivated.
  11. I absolutely adore reading, books are my first true love and I would rather have no TV but plenty to read than vice-versa.

 

Eleven Questions Asked by Tealight Taylor:

 

Q: Who or What inspired you to start blogging?

 A: I started this blog as a creative outlet, in hopes that it would help silence the ever present voices in my head, so far it’s not working but, I am enjoying myself, regardless. Plus, the voices have really good information to contribute, so it’s all good.

 Q: What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?

 A: Coffee is the first instinctual thing I think about when I first wake up. Once that’s taken care of, I then think about getting my children up and going.

Q. If you could write yourself as a character in a film or book what would be your most annoying quality?

 A. (Awesome question by the way) my most annoying quality would probably be my bossiness. I am a self-confessed control freak and I can get quite irritated when I feel like things are beyond my control. I am bossy at times, but I am also reasonable and fair.

 Q. Following the last question, what would be your most lovable quality?

 A. My most endearing quality would have to be my tenacity and the way I use sarcasm and humor to belittle a problem and conquer it. Having faced some horrors in my life, I’ve learned to never give up and never surrender! I use humor and sarcasm so that I don’t get intimidated by overwhelming odds. Without fear and despair, you’d be amazed at what you can accomplish.

 QIf you were to pick up that book with that character as the protagonist, would you like that character? 

A. I am not sure if I would necessarily like that character but, he/she would definitely make it a colorful and interesting read.

 Q. When was the last time you did something spontaneous and what was it?

 A. The last time I did something spontaneous was just before my open heart surgery. Two days before I was to have my chest sawed open I decided I wanted to go to Universal Studios Halloween Horror Nights. So, I packed up my oxygen tanks grabbed my comfy shoes and made the four hour drive and had the time of my life!

 Q. What was the last book or film you saw or read that left you speechless or in awe for days and why did it?

 A. This was a tough question to answer, because there have been so many. To simplify the answer I would have to say that the movie “Lone Survivor” was definitely an eye opener. The physical and emotional challenges in this movie leave you speechless. I personally feel that the book is much more intimate and detailed but, seeing it on the big screen leaves you with an unbelievable sense of pride, patriotism and huge respect for what an American solider is capable of.

 Q. Have you ever considered writing a book and what would it be called?

 A. Yes I have, ever since I was 13 years old and I read “The Outsiders” by S.E. Hinton for the first time. The author was just a kid around my age when she wrote this book and that greatly inspired me. I knew then that I wanted to be a writer. I have come up with a good title for my book if I get around to writing one but it will probably be one word such as “Kismet”.

 Q. Do you have a role model, who?

 A. My role model is definitely my grandmother. Although she passed away six years, I can still hear her words of wisdom resonating in my mind every day.

 Q. Have you ever continuously done something out of your com for zone, what was it and how did you feel afterwards?

 AStarting this blog was definitely out of my comfort zone. Up until then, I kept my writing private and only allowed certain people within my inner circle to read it. I am glad that I have made the effort to express myself in a more public venue. I feel empowered and encouraged.

 Q. Looking back at the start of your blog to now, have you changed in anyway, has your writing style changed and how?

 A. Looking back, I feel I have become more open to ideas, constructive criticism, and feedback. My writing style is ever evolving and I have a feeling it will change quite a bit as I become a more experienced writer.

 

The Blogs I nominate are as follows:

 

86,400 Seconds

Life as Lisa knows it

Pixie Dust Beach

An Open Diary of a Curious Girl

HushedMusings

Living my choice

The lightning tree blog

InTrend Post

 

Eleven questions I would like the nominees to answer.

 

  1. Why did you start your blog? 
  2. Who or what is your greatest inspiration?
  3. What is your favorite genre of books or movies and why?
  4. If you were given the opportunity to host your own talk show what would you discuss with your guest?
  5. If you were given the means to make a difference in the world, what worldwide problem would you decide to challenge and why?
  6. Where were you born and raised and if given the choice where would you prefer to have been born and raised?
  7. What part of world would like to visit?
  8. What is your favorite time of the year and why?
  9. Name one crisis you overcame and how?
  10. Describe your idea of the perfect day?
  11. Name one thing you plan on accomplishing before you die and why?

 

Thank you for your participation and happy blogging!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

